John 15: 4,5 & 8: “Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me. I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing… By this my Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit and so prove to be my disciples.”

Abiding Fruit
birds-in-heaven-032.jpg

Originally done to match a beautiful cherry blossom fabric I had, “Abiding Fruit” is dyed as a pair of colorways. Both “Abiding Fruit” and “The Vine & Branches” are done in browns, turquoise, green and varying shades of purple. “Abiding Fruit” has much more natural colored yarn in the colorway. This is one of the original colorways that catapulted me into the yarn-dyeing business. So it is a special yarn to me.

It is the process of abiding that is a new thing for me.  Most of my life as a Christian, I’ve spent it trying to “do the right thing.”  I have always failed.  It may seem like I’m doing well for a while, but then I slip.

Recently, after the birth of my 2nd daughter, I found myself slipping into depression.  I had no reason to be depressed.  I had a wonderful God, whom I loved.  I had an incredible husband.  I had 2 lovely daughters, who were both healthy.  I had a nice house and got the chance to stay at home with them.  Despite all these things, I found myself crying for no reason at all.  And I was angry all the time, over nothing.  The patience I had possessed before seemed to just slip from my grasp.  I felt I could not function.  It was a very hard time for my entire family.

I recently heard a sermon on God’s timing.  How sometimes He allows things to happen so that He might perform a miracle in your life.  How He has something greater for you to learn.  Much like how a diamond is formed from the pressure on the ore, we, too, are greater and stronger when we weather trials.  It was through this time that 2 very important things occurred.  One, I understood what it meant to abide in Christ.  That  no matter how much I try to be perfect, perfection alludes me.  And it will continue to do so, except through the power of the Holy Spirit, who will work in me to perfect me.  And two, I learned that God had a powerful ministry set before me.  I don’t know that I would have come into the yarn-dyeing business had it not been for the things I learned from my depression.  Though I never would have liked to relive those days, I am so thankful for the other side and who I’ve become in Him.  “Abiding Fruit” represents the process of who I am becoming.

