Ephesians 5:8 -10: “At one time you lived in darkness. Now you are living in the light that comes from the Lord. Live as children who have the light of the Lord in them. For the fruit of the light is in all goodness and justice and truth: Proving what is well pleasing to God.”

Children of Light- Close up

“Children of Light” was inspired by a childhood song we’ve been singing a lot with our children . One of my oldest daughter’s favorites songs is “Jesus Loves the Little Children”. She loves to sing, “red, and yellow, black and white, they are precious in his sight. Jesus loves the little children of the world.” But it means so much more than just that to me. The black is my sin, that was washed away with the red blood of Christ, which has left me white as snow in the eyes of God. The abundance of yellow in the colorway “Children of Light” represents to me the light that I have now in Christ.
When I read this verse, I knew exactly what it was talking about. My high school years were marked by spiritual disappointment and shame. I made many decisions that weren’t becoming to me and certainly did not live my life as an example to others. I believed in God, but really had turned a deaf ear to the promptings of the holy spirit. I felt like I wanted to do what I wanted to do, when I wanted to do it. And the consequences of those choices have followed me until now.

In college, I met some friends who encouraged me to live daily as a believer of Christ. I had to examine my motives and actions on everything. And through them, I was encouraged to get back on the right path with God. The difference in those “dark” days and today are so vast. The things I think about, dream about, focus on are such a contrast. It’s not that I don’t struggle to keep myself in check, and it’s not that I don’t slip up, but it’s different. My motives are no longer about “me, me, me” but I’m am constantly striving to have them be about “God’s will” and “God’s glory.” And “Children of Light” is a wonderful representation of who I’ve now become.


