Proverbs 19:21: “Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand.”

“Providence” is a unique colorway designed to merge teals and tans. The result is a very striking gold, with hints of tans, chocolates, and navy blues along with rich hues of teal and gold.  Webster’s defines Providence as “God, esp. when conceived as omnisciently directing the universe and the affairs of humankind with wise benevolence.”

The story of Ruth is one of my favorites in the Bible. I recently found a message by one of my favorite authors, John Piper, entitled ” Ruth: Sweet and Bitter Providence.” I loved what he had to say on the subject.

Not only does God reign in all the affairs of men, and not only is his providence sometimes hard, but in all his works his purposes are for the good and happiness of his people. Who would have imagined that in the worst of all times—the period of the judges—God was quietly moving in the tragedies of a single family to prepare the way for the greatest king of Israel? Finally, we learn that if you trust the sovereign goodness and mercy of God to pursue you all the days of your life, then you are free like Ruth. If God calls, you can leave family, you can leave your job, you can leave Minnesota, and you can make radical commitments and undertake new ventures. Or you can find the freedom and courage and strength to keep a commitment you already made. When you believe in the sovereignty of God and that he loves to work mightily for those who trust him, it gives a freedom and joy that can’t be shaken by hard times. The book of Ruth gives us a glimpse into the hidden work of God during the worst of times. And so like all the other Scriptures, as Paul says (Romans 15:4, 13), Ruth was written that we might abound in hope.

As I embark on my new adventure in being a WAHM (work-at-home-mom) and running a new business, I can rest in the fact that I am called to this ministry for this stage of life.  I can be sure that the Lord is directing my path, and that it is in His hands.  So “Providence” was named to show the trust I put in the Lord to orchestrate everything in my life.


