Matthew 6:25, 28-34: “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing?… And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you, even [King] Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are. But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.”

Royal Robes

“Royal Robes” is the last in a three part series, along with “Birds in Heaven” and “Lilies of the field.

My mom just took me shopping this week. I have been a little frustrated about how my clothes fit. I haven’t had to time to exercise the way I did in college. And then there’s something about carrying a baby (or 2), that can alter your body shape. I really haven’t been worried about it, but my mom really blessed me with this gift.

It’s nice to have clothes that flatter your figure. I had some that fit before, but I’m much more modest than I was a number of years ago. I found myself wearing the same few things over and over. There’s nothing wrong with that. Nor in the fact that I got some nice clothes. But I remember how different I was in high school. I couldn’t wear the same outfit twice in a couple of weeks. I actually wrote down what I wore each day, so that I could keep track of it. I tried on several (like between 6-10+) most nights before I settled on something. I always had to look perfect.

I think I looked nice in high school. Yet, I was very shallow and materialistic. I found myself making really stupid decisions.

Over the years, thankfully, the Lord has taught me to trust in him. I’ve been learning about really looking at what is on the inside of people and not the outside. I’ve been teaching that to my children and trying to really examine myself also. I truly desire to have beautiful character, rather than mere physical beauty.

“Royal Robes” was designed to have colors of a rich, deep indigo and light blue. These colors together reminded me of a what King Solomon’s robes might have been like. Yet even Solomon dressed in all his“Royal Robes” was designed to have colors of a rich, deep indigo and light blue. These colors together reminded me of a what King Solomon’s robes might have been like. Yet even Solomon dressed in all his glory, did not even compare in God’s eyes to the simple lilies of the field. What I’ve come to understand is that God desires for me to simply and wholly trust in Him. As I seek after God, and his righteousness, God will bless me with all that I truly need.

