2 Corinthians 4:5-7:For what we proclaim is not ourselves, but Jesus Christ as Lord, with ourselves as your servants for Jesus’ sake. For God, who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,” has shone in our hearts to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ. But we have this treasure in jars of clay, to show that the surpassing power belongs to God and not to us.”

Treasure in Clay Jars

I love this passage. Instantly, visions of an old clay jar came to mind, with multi-colored jewels inside. I’ve included reds for rubies and garnets, gold, white for pearls, blue for sapphires, green for emeralds, turquoise and purple for amethyst. In an old clay jar, these treasures are hidden from view. Yet they are much more important than the vessel in which they are being stored. The clay jar breaks easily. It does not last over time. Heat and cold can damage it. It will crack and chip. Yet the treasures inside will not be damaged by the same pressures. They will stand up over time and last for centuries.

The same is with our faith.  The power we have through Christ transforms us into beings who have the same outer shell.  But on the inside, we are storing up treasures in heaven.  I grew up in a family where what we looked like on the outside and what the world thought of our actions were of utmost importance.  But in growing with Christ, I’ve realized that it’s my heart and my motives that are more important.  The old adage, “It’s what’s on the inside that counts” really rings true.  Trying to live this out is difficult.  It’s even more difficult to teach to young children.

But through the power of the Lord, I am being renewed daily.  And it is not in my strength, but His.  And I pray that my business glorifies the Lord and allows others to see the same God I know.

