Psalm 92:1-5 “1 It is good to give thanks to the Lord, to sing praises to your name, O Most High; to declare your steadfast love in the morning, and your faithfulness by night, to the music of the lute and the harp, to the melody of the lyre. For you, O Lord, have made me glad by your work; at the works of your hands I sing for joy. How great are your works, O Lord! Your thoughts are very deep! “

Morning Glory

“Morning Glory” is such a special colorway to me. It was one of the original ones that led to my dyeing adventures. I wanted my oldest daughter to wear wool, but what we already had in the house was “too hurty”. A super kind mama sent us some undyed wool. Since at the time, I was just using food dyes, I let her help. She had a blast with the first one we did. So here’s she is in round 2.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Now, this is no longer the method I use for my dyeing. She does not help. However, she is always remembered as I dye. We just gave her a paint brush and let her go to town. She had a blast and always refers to the shorties as the “yarn we made.”

This is the finished product.

Morning Glory (original)

Today’s version is a bit different than the original. I lightened up the purple, and it has more merigolds and oranges in it. The colors are much more rich and vibrant. And there is none of the yuck that happens when yellow and purple meet!

I came up with the name Morning Glory when looking for inspiration. Someone suggested that it was the colors of a morning glory flower. It also happens to be the birth flower for my birthday month. I got to thinking about the double meaning, how it also represents the amazing sunrises. Our God is not shy in displaying His glory! I just look around everywhere and see evidence of Him and the work of His hands. That’s why this was so special. It was the first colorway that I had dyed that was named in honor of the Lord.

I pondered on naming it for God. I had been struggling a bit with feeling close to the Lord for a little while. All of the sudden, I started thinking about Him constantly. I looked at the world with new eyes. A couple of weeks later, I was in church and was following along in the Bible, and “names” just popped out at me. Instantly, I knew what colors I’d translate them on to yarn. It’s as if God gave me a pair of color glasses and naming glasses and I could really see. The world transformed in front of me and so did my faith. I found myself longing to spend time in the Bible. I longed to see the ultimate artist at work. I found myself admiring the colors in nature. I found myself in awe of God in a whole new way!

What passion overtook my soul. I had a vision and a new meaning. I look forward to spending time with Him, learning from Him and growing in Him. I felt a very distinct call to a ministry. I felt as if I had to share the truths God was revealing to me in my dyeing and researching, therefore I created this blog to go along with my business. I love being able to share the things God is teaching me and creating beauty that is found in His word. Each and every colorway I create will have a verse and meaning found in the Bible. I actually think that I’ll have an endless supply of ideas. The Bible is a very big book and takes place over a very long period of time. I am so pleased that I can serve Him in something that I love. He is my “Morning Glory”!

