Psalm 128:1-6 ” How blessed is everyone who fears the LORD, Who walks in His ways. When you shall eat of the fruit of your hands, You will be happy and it will be well with you. Your wife shall be like a fruitful vine Within your house, Your children like olive plants Around your table. Behold, for thus shall the man be blessed Who fears the LORD. The LORD bless you from Zion, And may you see the prosperity of Jerusalem all the days of your life. Indeed, may you see your children’s children. Peace be upon Israel!”

Fruitful Vine

I love this verse. I guess I am a bit old-fashioned. I stay at home with my children. I cloth diaper them. I breastfeed. I knit and sew and crochet. (And of course, dye yarn!) But I also believe in classic ideals. I love the idea of fearing the Lord. Not like a hungry lion who is about to devour his prey, but more like a young Marine who enlists and a senior official comes on deck. There is a fear, awe and respect for the position and person. That type of fear creates reverence. And in this I fear the Lord.

I am the “Fruitful Vine” this verse talks about. The wife, within the house. The Lord is constantly working on me in this area. I feel like I am a vine with very little fruit. Though I am at the house, I often am not tending to the things of the house. It’s been over this summer that the Lord has been convicting me. I need to be content to be where He has called me to be: at home. I need to tend to the little “olive plants” around my table so that they may grow up into strong trees. They are only little once. They can only receive this type of instruction while they are young. It is not only my responsibility and duty, but my primary calling in life to nourish those in my home. I desire to train my little “olives” to become all that God desires for them to be.

This path is rather difficult for me. It takes a lot for God to work this way. You see, by nature, I am a very messy person. But my oldest daughter responds so much better to organization and order. My youngest is already trying to clean, at 15 mo. So part of teaching my children, is also teaching myself. I am so glad that the Lord is patient with me and that He has revealed this to me while they are young. I have been working diligently this summer to do a better job of being “in my home” while at home. Hopefully, I’ll be able to teach them and instruct them so that they may grow up to be “fruitful vines” in their own homes.

