Genesis 1: 24-26 ” Then God said, “Let the earth bring forth living creatures after their kind: cattle and creeping things and beasts of the earth after their kind”; and it was so. God made the beasts of the earth after their kind, and the cattle after their kind, and everything that creeps on the ground after its kind; and God saw that it was good.”

Hippo Baby

This colorway is one of my “Days of Creation” series.

Day 6- part 1!

This colorway was sort-of added as an afterthought.  (blush)  I was looking at all the ones I had done, and realized I’d missed the beasts of the field.  When I first started dyeing, I had mentioned to my husband that I wanted to do one based on the Hippo and call it “Hippo Baby”.  So when I realized that I needed this segment of scripture to get complete the entire Creation account, I knew it had to be here.

When my oldest daughter was younger, she was fascinated by baby movies.  We bought this very old movie called “Baby Praise.”  It had babies just doing stuff and it was set to Christian songs.  She loved it.  And she learned a lot of the songs.  She’d always want to watch the “baby mobie.”  We watched it until we were blue in the face. LOL

My mom wanted to get one for my niece, after seeing how much my daughter loved it.  But she found one called “Praise Baby” and bought it.  It was not the same movie, though very similar in concept.  The one we got was called “God of Wonders” and it had a hippo on the front.  To distinguish between the 2, we called one the “baby movie” and the other the “hippo baby movie”.  Almost a year and a half later, she still calls that movie the “hippo baby movie.”

This colorway has the gray of the hippo and all the femininity of my very girly daughter.  I will think of her every time I dye it!

