Psalm 23:1-6 – “ The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters. He restores my soul. He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; you anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever.”

Songs of the Shepherd

This is one of the most famous Psalms. It is funny, because my parents taught it to me when I was a little child. Mom said I could recite the whole thing. Over the years, I actually forgot it. It’s funny how things are one way as a child and another as an adult.
Take Psalm 23 for example. I could routinely say it as a child. But it had no meaning to me. However, it is not something I have yet memorized in my adult years, yet it is full of things that mean so much to me these days.

Just as sheep are not the smartest of all creatures, we humans often make really stupid mistakes. I, for one, am in need of a “shepherd”.  I am so glad that the Lord is my shepherd.  He knows me intimately, and knows my path.  Therefore, He can guide me in the right direction.  He can lead me to rest when I need rest.  He restores me when I am in need of it also.  In all the storms of life, He is there for me.  I have nothing to fear, for the Lord is with me and prepares a way for me.  I am so thankful for the “Songs of the Shepherd.”

