1 Peter 3:3-4 Let your beauty not be external – the braiding of hair and wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes – but the inner person of the heart, the lasting beauty of a gentle and tranquil spirit, which is precious in God’s sight.”
Tranquil Spirit

I’ve always been a outgoing and energetic person. Maybe to the point of being loud and overbearing at times.  It’s funny because I see these traits coming out in my 3 year old daughter.  She’s just always been loud.  I can tell that these things are just genetic and how God made us.

I grew up in a house where the way we looked to the outside mattered a lot.  It was always important that I represent my family well.  I was dressed nice.  I had my hair fixed and make-up just so.  That my outward appearance reflected well on my family.  As I got older, it also included my behavior.  It was important that what I did reflected well  on the family.

But as I got older, I learned the fallacy in this type of thinking.  I grew up thinking that if I looked one way to the world, then I was okay.  But my heart was never addressed.  I wasn’t taught that it’s what my heart’s motives were that were of utmost importance.  I think it wasn’t really even until I was married that it started to become clear to me what God really wanted of me.

He didn’t desire a thin body with a nicely adorned face.  Rather, he’d prefer a beautiful and tranquil spirit.  I had to learn that these were choices I had to make.  And I could not change myself.  Much like a piece of clay, I had to allow God to shape me and make me into a new vessel.  Now does that  mean that I’m no longer loud and boisterous?    Well, my overall nature hasn’t changed.  I am still outgoing and fun.  But my heart has changed.  No longer do I clamor to be the center of attention.  I’d prefer to take a back seat more often than I used to.  I long to be filled with a sense of calm that would have bored me years ago.  But what pleases me has changed as the Lord has changed my heart. And I hope these are the characteristics that I am training my daughters to aspire to have.  Praise be to God for transformations!!!

