2 Corinthians 5:17- “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.”


This colorway is actually inspired by some of the traveling that my husband and I have done. When we were very newly pregnant with our oldest daughter, we went to Australia for 3 weeks. We went to the Daintree Rainforest. We encountered the most beautiful blue and black butterfly there, the Ulysses. It was amazing.

Shortly thereafter, we went to Costa Rica. While at a butterfly conservatory, we were surrounded by hundreds of Blue Morpho Butterflies. They are also that striking blue and black. You can click on it to see it bigger!!

Blue morpho butterfly

You know how in school, we learn about the process of metamorphosis?  This caterpillar  is crawling around one day, spins himself up a cocoon, and emerges a butterfly.  Though it is the same being, he is no longer the same creature.  How does this occur?  We know what happens, but only God can make this creature become something totally different.

What is so neat, is that through the power of His son, Jesus, we can also become new creatures in Christ.  I know that in my former self, I was a mess.  I desperately love my children, but all I have to do is look at them and see my former self.  My 3 year old daughter has such a hard time sharing, and being kind to her sister.  Her entire being is truly selfish.  Though she’ll have selfless moments, she really is very self centered.  That is part of her sinful self.  She can never truly be selfless without the help of her Creator.   That is why the Christian life is so powerful.

At one time, I was like my children.  And then I realized my need for a savior.  I understood that Christ was the only perfect man to ever live and that He laid down his life willingly, so that I might have restored communion with a Holy God again.  And in accepting his gift to me, he in return made me a new person and sealed me with the Holy Spirit.  Just like that butterfly, I was made new.  Now I am not claiming perfection.  However, my motives and desires were changed at that moment.  I understood things that I could have not understood before.  And I am so grateful for this new life.

Much like the butterfly…  He has experienced flight. He is beautiful.  He is light as air and carefree.  Do you think he’d ever want to return to his little fat, crawling, caterpillar self?  I think not.  Nor would I.  I long for everyone to experience this amazing “Metamorphosis” in Christ.  If you ever have any questions about my faith or experiencing a personal relationship with Jesus, please email me.

