Psalm 95:1-6 “O come, let us sing for joy to the LORD, Let us shout joyfully to the rock of our salvation. Let us come before His presence with thanksgiving, Let us shout joyfully to Him with psalms. For the LORD is a great God And a great King above all gods, In whose hand are the depths of the earth, The peaks of the mountains are His also. The sea is His, for it was He who made it, And His hands formed the dry land. Come, let us worship and bow down, Let us kneel before the LORD our Maker.”

Thanksgiving

The colors of “Thanksgiving” were inspired by a cornucopia. I found this picture and fell in love with it.
Cornucopia

Thanksgiving is a wonderful tradition in my family.  My grandparents lived about 6 hours from my family.  Every year, we saw them on this special holiday.  We ate well and enjoyed the company of family members we hadn’t seen in a long time.  The last couple of years, my dad has instituted a new tradition.  Each member of the family goes around the table and tells what they’ve been thankful for that year.  It added a new and wonderful element to the already great holiday.

This year, I had an rough time with some post partem depression.  It was a rough time for me and my family.  I really struggled with my thought life.  A dear friend of mine was there to give me some perspective.  He told me to make a list of ALL the things I was thankful for.  To meditate on these things.  I did it.  And though it not ‘cure’ my depression, it sure helped me gain a better perspective and start to work my way out of the pit.

Honestly, there are really hard seasons of life.  Each of us has our own struggles to go through.  But even in the worst circumstances, there are still things I can be thankful for.  One of my modern day heroes is a lady named Joni Eareckson Tada.

She has a ministry at http://www.joniandfriends.org/  Basically she was in a diving accident  in 1967 and it left Mrs. Tada a quadriplegic in a wheelchair, unable to use her hands. During two years of rehabilitation, she spent long months learning how to paint with a brush between her teeth. Her high detail fine art paintings and prints are sought after and collected.  To hear her, you’d never know.  She is one of the most up-beat, chipper, God seeking people I have ever heard.

She could have every reason to be bitter, but instead she finds joy in each day.  She helps others who are unable to help themselves.  She ministers to her caretakers.  She can’t even scratch her own nose if it itches, yet she’s thankful for each and every day.

I have so much to be thankful.  All throughout the scriptures, God commands us to be thankful and come to Him with thanksgiving in our heart.  I truly believe, that if we choose to be thankful for everything we have and are, we will experience the fullness of life that God intended for us to have.  What and who can you be thankful for today?

