Galatians 4: 1-7 “But now to continue—the son who will receive his father’s property is treated just like a slave while he is young, even though he really owns everything. While he is young, there are men who take care of him and manage his affairs until the time set by his father. In the same way, we too were slaves of the ruling spirits of the universe before we reached spiritual maturity. But when the right time finally came, God sent his own Son. He came as the son of a human mother and lived under the Jewish Law, to redeem those who were under the Law, so that we might become God’s children. To show that you are his children, God sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, the Spirit who cries out, “Abba! Father!” So then, you are no longer a slave but a child. And since you are his child, God will give you all that he has for his children.”

Recently,  my husband has been home a lot.  He had his ACL repaired, and my daughters have had the opportunity to have him around more frequently than they normally do.  Granted, he is a very involved father.  He dotes on his daughters and showers them with love and affection.  Yet, on a very regular basis, he is away from them for a good portion of the day.  My activities, his work, have all kept us busy.  This semester, I’ve slowed down quite a bit.  He has now been home for almost a week.  They’ve grown very attached.  There’s something so sweet about a little 18 mo girl waking up saying, “Da-Da.  Da-Da.” I say, do you want to go get Daddy?  She says, “Yeah.”  Or my oldest daughter, who is 3, waking up in the middle of the night, crying out for Daddy.

Their relationship with him is very special.  Yet, it is only a mere reflection of the relationship we have with our Heavenly Father.  This scripture says that at we were all under the law.  Yet, Jesus came and lived under the law- to free us from the law, so that we could also become children of God.  Because of the sacrifice that Christ made on the cross, and because he triumphed over death by raising on the third day- we can have the Spirit of God by simply believing in Him. And that seals us into His family.  We become adopted children.

I’m on a forum board where quite a few women have adopted children.  And I have some friends who are adopted.  As a young child, this part about being adopted by God had very little significance.  Now, as an woman in my child bearing years, adoption is a whole new issue.  I have seen friends struggle with infertility.  I have seen families made whole by adoption.  I have seen children loved and made complete by the adoption process. Yet these are fallible  parents, raising fallible children.  But through Christ, we have the ability to call out to our Father, and know that He loves us the same way that He loved Christ. And it was for us that He sent His son to us.  I am so glad that I can have this type of relationship with God.  That he longs for me to wake up and call for Him the way my baby does.  And to cry out to Him at night, the way my 3 year old does.  He is truly our “Abba Father”.

