Hebrews 13:2 “Don’t forget to show hospitality to strangers, for some who have done this have entertained angels without realizing it!”

Entertaining Angels 007

This colorway is part of my “Angels” series. The name is inspired by a song by the Newsboys, “Entertaining Angels”, which both my husband and I love!

You can watch the music video here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F4VFEwYHZiU

As I’ve become an adult, and especially a mom, I’ve had a newfound respect for good old hospitality. What a difference home cooked meals brought to your door-step means after you have a baby. What a wonderful thing a thank you card is. What a great thing a quick phone call means- just checking on you. How wonderful it is to have someone offer to help you in your time of need. To have someone watch your kids, so you can get out or just go to the doctor in peace.

The ladies in my MOPS groups have taught me so very much about this. I’ve had an opportunity to have some wonderful mentors who’s very essence were hospitality. I’ve had the opportunity to be a recipient of many wonderful things. And I’ve also learned a lot about giving. I’ve learned how to give out of an overflow of my heart. How to give, just to bless. How to give so that others may benefit.

This scripture is so neat.  There are 3 Old Testament people who “entertained angels without knowing it”; 1- Abraham (Genesis 18:1),  2- Gideon (Judges 6:11) and 3- Manoah (Judges 13:2.  I’m not sure to all the workings of angels. They are a mystery to me, for sure. Yet, it says that in serving others, sometimes we entertain angels. I think those are my favorite movies. The ones where someone comes in for a time and out for a time. Like “It’s a Wonderful Life”. Though, I doubt the theology of the movie, it’s a fun story to watch. I wonder if you or I have ever just helped a person in need, and in doing so have “entertained angels”. I think I’m going to make a more concerted effort to help those strangers in need. Find a way to serve others whenever possible.

