Proverbs 3:11-18 “My child, when the LORD corrects you, pay close attention and take it as a warning. The LORD corrects those he loves, as parents correct a child of whom they are proud. Happy is anyone who becomes wise—who comes to have understanding. There is more profit in it than there is in silver; it is worth more to you than gold. Wisdom is more valuable than jewels; nothing you could want can compare with it. Wisdom offers you long life, as well as wealth and honor. Wisdom can make your life pleasant and lead you safely through it. Those who become wise are happy; wisdom will give them life.”

Wisdom 003

This colorway was inspired by a shirt I’ve owned since High School. And I STILL wear it. LOL This picture is taken my sophomore year (91-92) and is with my best friend, Cheryl. The hair styles are so funny!!! (You can click on it to see it bigger. )

Cheryl & I

I was out on a date with my husband, when this verse came on the radio. I instantly knew what colors I’d see it to be.  Green, like dark emeralds.  Maroon, like deep rubies.  Navy, like dark sapphires.  And white- like diamonds.  Precious jewels.  Valuable to most.  Yet, this scripture tells us that Wisdom is more valuable and nothing can compare with it.

I think it’s ironic that this set of verses starts off with admonition for taking the Lord’s correction seriously.  And then it talks about wisdom.  I think that the Lord is often trying to teach us and correct us lovingly, the way most parents do their own children.  Yet, I think, as stubborn adults, we often turn away from His correction.  Part of wisdom is knowing when to take correction.

This verse also says that Wisdom leads to happiness and long and pleasant life.   This philosophy is so different than what many people think of today.  They think fame, wealth, beauty will make them happy.  Yet look at Hollywood.  Those people are famous.  Yet they can’t even go to the bathroom without cameras following them.  They long to raise their families in peace, but are subjected by constant paparazzi.   They marry the ideal man/woman.  Yet, look at the divorce rate.  Look at how long the marriages last.  They have wealth, yet look at how many end up in alcohol/drug rehabs.  Do they seem really happy?  Truly peaceful on the inside?

True peace and contentment can only come from God. He offers us things not of the world.  Wisdom is one of the gifts he offers us.  And I think that one who is wise will understand that the pleasures of the world are temporary  and fleeting, and therefore would rather go after eternal things.  A wise friend in college said that she just committed to praying for wisdom.  And the Lord answered her, for she was wise beyond her years.  And she blessed my life in the process.  I think I need to start daily praying for wisdom, for I long to have the life God promises us we’ll have with it.

