Psalm 105:25-45 (verses 38, 39)- “Egypt was glad when they departed, For the dread of them had fallen upon them. He spread a cloud for a covering, And fire to illumine by night.”

Songs of a Wandering People

This colorway is based on the Exodus of the Isrelites.  You can read about it here.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Exodus

This colorway is part of my “Songs of… ” series, where each one is named after a Psalm.

I really like the Old Testament.  I love reading the stories of how God provided for His people over and over.  How they messed up time and time again, yet He continued to forgive them and draw them close to Him.

Basic summary of the Exodus.  The people were now slaves in Egypt.  God called Moses to stand against Pharaoh.  It took 10 different plagues for the Pharaoh to let them go.  So God takes them out of Egypt and is leading them to His promised land.  But the people continue to sin.  Over and over they sin.  Therefore, God allows them to wander in the wilderness for years, so that the people of the sinful generation would not enter into the promised land.  Yet, throughout that experience, the Lord provided for them.  He provided their food each day with quail and manna.  He provided extra for the Sabbath.  And He gave them a pillar of clouds to protect them in the day from the desert sun and a pillar of fire at night, to guide them and protect them.  After many years of wandering in the desert and conquering people, they arrived and settled in the land the Lord had promised them.

There are days that spiritually, I feel like I’m in the desert.  Some of these days are a result of my sin.  Some are not.  Yet, I can rest assured that no matter what,  my Lord provides for all my needs.  Even in the desert.

This colorway reminds me of the fire in the night and the clouds in the sky in day, with the cactus in the desert. God eventually led His people to the promised land, and He will do the same for you.

