Matthew 6:25-27,33-34: “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the heaven: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life? … But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.”

“Birds in Heaven” is the first in a three part series, including “Lilies of the Field” and “Royal Robes”.

This passage is talking about worrying.  I used to do a lot of worrying, and as a mom, I’ve got even more to worry about. LOL

Before kids, both my husband and I were in commission sales.  I loved it, but it was a high stress job.  You’d never know what you paycheck would be.  Would you do really well or just okay?  Would it be an up year or down year?  Chad decided to stay that route, and is still in commission sales.  The first year I stayed home, I think it was really tough for me not to worry.  (Confession: I worries a TON!)  But God has really taught me to trust in Him.  I know that my husband is good at his job.  I know that he feels like he’s exactly where God wants him to be, career-wise.  So if God put Chad there, won’t he provide for our family?  Of course he will.  And if he gave me everything I own, won’t he take care of it?

We are God’s special creation.  Out of all the things he created, humans are the only ones created in HIS image.  He loves us and cares for us.  And if he provides for them, by feeding and protecting them, won’t he do the same for us?  He says that he will, and in that I have to trust.  God is incapable of lying, so I can trust that when he says not to be anxious.

I have been praying about not being anxious and slowly but surely, God is taking care of it. “Birds in Heaven” was designed to represent the colors of a clear blue sky and the beauty of birds in flight.  A canary, cardinal and blue jay set against the white of the clouds.  These beautiful birds that He created and cares for are so insignificant to how much he cares for us.

